Return to Headlines

DSISD's Gearing Named Regional Nominee for 2019 TASB Superintendent of the Year Award

July 8, 2019

Dripping Springs ISD Superintendent Dr. Bruce Gearing has been named the Region 13 Superintendent of the Year in the 2019 Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) program.
The SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984. Regional SOTY awardees are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. The regional awardees will interview with a state selection committee on August 23-24; five state finalists then will be selected. The Texas Superintendent of the Year will be announced Sept. 21 at the 2019 Texas Association of School Administrators/TASB Convention in Dallas.

Dr. Gearing came to Dripping Springs ISD in February 2012 and has been instrumental in the district's progress towards transforming education to serve students as life-long learners and positive contributors to the world. In his tenure, the district has seen a growth in enrollment of approximately 50 percent, built and opened two new schools, and passed two bond programs as well as a tax-ratification election.

Dr. Gearing has shared his vision not only internally within Dripping Springs ISD, but has presented at many state and national conferences and workshops.

Before moving to Dripping Springs, Dr. Gearing served as superintendent of Marshall ISD from 2009-2012, three years as an assistant superintendent at Mount Pleasant ISD, one year as a junior high principal, and four years as an elementary principal. A native of South Africa, Dr. Gearing started his career teaching science and later math at the high school level, including three years at international schools.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.34 million students.