Return to Headlines

DSEF Awards Student Leadership and Innovative Teaching Grants

May 28, 2019


The Dripping Springs Education Foundation (DSEF) awarded nearly $49,000 in funding through 13 Innovative Teaching Grants and another eight Student Leadership Grants during DSEF's spring grants program. The Innovative Teaching Grants are awarded to those teachers whose grant application highlights a program, teaching techniques, equipment, or technology requested to improve, advance, or enrich student learning. Teachers awarded with Innovative Teaching Grants were:

Sycamore Springs Elementary

Drones in Education - $1,079, Roving Reporters - $833: Jennifer Sprague

DSISD Elementary Parent University - $2,006: Kim Bird

Growing Ageless Math Enthusiasm & Synergy - $3,310: Carla Bailey

Mighty Tiger Games - $2,920: Shay Diez


Rooster Springs Elementary

Getting More Out of 45 Minutes of Science - $2,228: Capri Heintz


Walnut Springs Elementary

A Wristed Development - $1,206: Lura Griffin


DSISD Special Education

Equals Math Equals Success Elementary & Secondary - $7,756: Erin Hawkins


Dripping Springs High School

Broadcast to the Future - $7,697: B.J. Mercer

Organic Chemistry Lab - $800: Alissa Nevin    


Dripping Springs Middle School

Seismic Activity in Real Time - $932: Laura Black

Take Me to the Movies - $2,729, You Can do the Cube - $1,406: Amy Caldera


Student Leadership Grants are designed to foster the development of student's leadership skills through their efforts to serve their school, community, or others in the world.  Students, together with their faculty sponsors, apply for the grants. Projects receiving funding this spring are:


Dripping Springs Elementary School

Quotes of Kindness - $112: Kolby Dennison, Lucy Louise Timmins, Allie Jenkins

Faculty Sponsor: Jennifer Crowder


Sycamore Springs Middle School

PALS - $2,500: Lillian Lemm, Milan Malinak, Ariana Capek, Zoey Upton, Kaylee Wilson, Cary Austin, Austin Van Burkleo, Taylor Anderson, Maxim Caillabet, Tyler Mayer, Korbyn Jones, Alfredo Vilafane, Margaret Leontier, Reagan Otten, Ramsey Zogaib, Emma Williamson, Julie Leger, Mackenzie Cluver, Eben Sebastian

Faculty Sponsor: Kira Dyer


Sycamore Springs Elementary

Tiger Friends Leadership Club - $975: Julianna Lamb, Rose McKenna, Kylie Reyes, Ryleigh Neff, Tana Steinbach

Faculty Sponsor: Kim Bird


Student Comic Book Publication/Writing Club - $539: Lucas Patent, Tibo Nguyen, Jonathan Schelling

Faculty Sponsor: Jessica Sigur, Jenny Sprague, Bonnie Wampler


Dripping Springs High School

Community Star Parties - $900: Megan Hitt

Faculty Sponsor: John Adams


FIRST Tech Challenge Incubation - $1,122: Connell Gutierrez, Reid Lohman, Kendrick Lemmond, Johnny Dollard, Amy Green, Ian Stinson, Joseph Parsons

Faculty Sponsor: Kathy Shepherd


Audio & Video Technology - $7,764: Benjamin Cook

Faculty Sponsor: B.J. Mercer


Dripping Change - $140: Teagan Krewson, Audrey Balsdon

Faculty Sponsor: Michael Lemonds


This fall, DSEF awarded 17 other Student Leadership Grants. During this school year a total of 25 student projects received DSEF funding in excess of $33,400.