Return to Headlines

District Teachers of the Year Announced

May 21, 2019


Dripping Springs ISD announced the district’s 2019 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year at the May 20 Board of Trustees meeting. The DSISD Elementary Teacher of the Year is Shay Diez, physical education teacher at Sycamore Springs Elementary, and the DSISD Secondary Teacher of the Year is Lauren Milner, Health Science Technology teacher at Dripping Springs High School. These individuals now will represent Dripping Springs ISD in the 2019-20 Texas Teacher of the Year program.

Before joining the inaugural SSE staff in fall of 2017, Ms. Diez taught for six years in Aldine ISD and four in Austin ISD. In addition to her PE certification, Ms. Diez also is certified as an Early Childhood-Fourth Grade generalist and in English as a Second Language. She was a campus leader in developing the Mighty Tiger Games that included elementary Functional Academic students district-wide. Ms. Diez earned a bachelor’s degree in Kinesiology from the University of Texas. 

Lauren Milner is in her fourth year at Dripping Springs High School and is also the sponsor of the school’s ROTC club. She also has served as a teacher/lecturer at the University of Texas Center for Professional Development. An Army veteran, Ms. Milner is certified in Career and Technical Education. Ms. Milner earned her bachelor’s degree in International Business/French from St. Joseph’s College (Ind.), and two master’s degrees: one in finance from Trident University and one in Sports and Health Sciences from the American Military University (Va.).

In addition to Diez and Milner, other Campus Teachers of the Year were:  Caroline Rogers (DSE), Candy Rowen (RSE), Denise Thomas (WSE), Candace Torres (SSMS), and Rachel Tole (DSMS).

Campus Teachers of the Year are selected by their school colleagues; the District Teachers of the Year are chosen following an interview with a selection committee.