Return to Headlines

DSHS Theatre Production Honored with Two Awards

The Dripping Springs High School production of "Little Shop of Horrors" received eight nominations in the 2019 Greater Austin High School Musical Theatre Awards program, and walked away with two wins. DSHS was recognized with the Best Scenic Design and Connor Mayer was recognized with a Student Award Design for his work drafting and leading scenic construction. 

Other nominations were for Best Production, Best Actress (Cassie Martin as Audrey), Best Actor (Ryan McCarthy as Seymour), Best Lighting Design, Best Costume Design, Best Technical Execution, and Best Direction.


The Awards Ceremony, which celebrates the outstanding achievements of high school teachers and students with a combination of school performances, multi-school student performances and awards, is scheduled for April at the Long Center. As a school nominated for Best Production, DSHS students also had the opportunity to perform a number from the show during the ceremony.