Return to Headlines

Middle Schools Compete at One-Act Play District Meet

DSISD's two middle schools -- Dripping Springs Middle School and Sycamore Springs Middle School -- finished first and third, respectively, at the UIL District One-Act Play Contest held on March 9, 2019. In addition, students from both schools received multiple awards.

The DSMS performance of "And a Child Shall Lead" was the Festival Winner. Angie Tevis won the Best Tech Award. Daniel Mciver was selected as Best Actor, the Most Valuable Performer (MVP) was Ruby Haden, All-Star Cast Awards went to A.J. Bergeron and Harlan Jack, and Owen Racis and Sierra Trbovich earned honorable mention.

SSMS presented "Alice in Wonderland."  Amelie Lawrence and Alexis Brasher received All-Star Cast Awards, Camden Packer received honorable mention, and Calvin Green received the MVP award. 

In addition to DSMS and SSMS, schools competing in the contest were Lockhart Middle School, Briesemeister Middle School (Seguin ISD), and Barnes Middle School (Seguin ISD).