Return to Headlines

DSISD Names Two New Elementary Principals

May 23, 2022


At the May 23 meeting of the Dripping Springs ISD Board of Trustees, the board approved two new elementary principals: Cody Spraberry as principal of Sycamore Springs Elementary and Maureen Jamail as principal of Walnut Springs Elementary.


Mr. Spraberry comes to DSISD from Eanes ISD where he has served as the principal of Forest Trail Elementary since 2016. A resident of Dripping Springs, he brings almost 20 years of professional experience to the district. A relational and experienced leader, Mr. Spraberry holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Behavioral Science from Hardin Simmons University and a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership and Policy from The University of Texas at Arlington. He is married and has two children who attend Rooster Springs Elementary. 


Ms. Jamail comes to lead Walnut Springs Elementary following successful stints as assistant principal of Walnut Springs Elementary and Dripping Springs High School, respectively. Ms. Jamail has over 18 years of professional teaching and administrative experience, including 16 years with DSISD. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from The University of Texas at Arlington and a Master’s of Education degree from Lamar University. Ms. Jamail is married and has two grown children who graduated from Dripping Springs High School. 


“We are excited to announce these two remarkable leaders for our elementary campuses. Mr. Spraberry brings exceptional, proven experience from a high-performing campus balanced with local insight and relationships in our community to successfully lead SSE. Additionally, Ms. Jamail has been a steadfast leader for DSISD for many years. I am thrilled for her to return to WSE to lead the campus where she spent so much time developing and supporting a positive campus culture built on staff and student relationships,” commented Dr. Holly Morris-Kuentz, Superintendent of Dripping Springs ISD.  


Mr. Spraberry and Ms. Jamail will assume their new roles for the 2022-2023 school year.