Return to Headlines

DSHS Boys' Wrestling Wins Regional Championship; 12 Wrestlers Qualify for State Meet

February 14, 2022


Twelve Dripping Springs High School wrestlers qualified for the UIL 5A State Meet by placing in the top four of their respective weight classes at the Region IV-5A Championships in Austin.


The boys’ team captured a third-straight regional title, finishing with 258 points to easily beat out the competition. Second-place Mission Sharyland High School totaled 118 points followed by Cedar Park with 100 points for third.


Taylor Van De Walle (113 pounds), Hagen Shipley (126), Seth Rill (160), Alec Rill (195), and Grant Clarno (220) won their weight class to earn regional crowns. Dominic Parmeson (182) finished as runner-up, and Abel Silverman (106) and Ben Lourens (170) took third place in their weight classes. Shane Bookbinder (138) rounded out the state qualifiers for the boys by taking fourth place.


Cole Sides (120) and Nathan Prehar (285) were also placers, finishing in fifth and sixth, respectively.


The DSHS girls’ team recorded a program-best third-place team finish at the regional meet with 86 points. Corpus Christi King High School won the meet with 104 points and McAllen Memorial took second with 91 points.


Dripping Springs advanced three wrestlers to the state meet with Carson Crow (110), Alyson Brownson-Welch (128) and Caroline Nix (138) finishing in second place in their respective weight classes.


DSHS head coach Joe Kirksey and assistant coach Eric Koontz each earned regional coaching honors.


The UIL State Meet will be held Feb. 18-19 at the Berry Center in Cypress. Additional information on the state competition can be found here


State Qualifiers


Carson Crow - 2nd place (110 pounds)

Alyson Brownson-Welch - 2nd place (128 pounds)

Caroline Nix - 2nd place (138 pounds)



Abel Silverman - 3rd place (106 pounds)

Taylor Van De Walle - 1st place (113 pounds)

Hagen Shipley - 1st place (126 pounds)

Shane Bookbinder - 4th place (138 pounds)

Seth Rill - 1st place (160 pounds)

Ben Lourens - 3rd place (170 pounds)

Dominic Parmeson - 2nd place (182 pounds)

Alec Rill - 1st place (195 pounds)

Grant Clarno - 1st place (220 pounds)