Return to Headlines

PTA Reflections State Qualifiers Announced

January 18, 2022


The creative work of 25 Dripping Springs ISD students has been honored by the DSISD Council of PTAs in the 2021-22 National PTA Reflections program with 13 of those students earning Outstanding Interpretation to advance to the Texas PTA State Contest.


The National PTA Reflections program encourages students of all ages and abilities to explore and be involved in the arts. Through the program, National, Texas PTA and Dripping Springs local PTAs urge students at all grade levels to create and submit original works of art in the medium of their choice, reflecting on a specific theme. This year’s theme was “I Will Change the World By…” Pieces were selected to represent DSISD from various grade divisions (Primary, Intermediate, Middle, and Senior) and categories (Dance Choreography, Visual Arts, Literature, Music Composition, Photography and Film Production).


The Texas PTA will announce state award winners later this spring. 


Outstanding Interpretation

Dance Choreography:

Middle School – McKenna Robinson, “We Are the World” (SSMS, 6th grade)


Film Productions:

Intermediate – Darby Engels, “Water Protection” (RSE, 5th grade)



Primary – Brody Sansone, “Diary of A Sansone Kid - How the King Will Change the World” (CSE, 1st grade)

Intermediate – Amelia Callas, “We Should All Help the Environment” (RSE, 3rd grade)


Music Composition:

Intermediate – Odin Magee, “Sunshine” (RSE, 5th grade)

Middle School – Abir Kulkarni, “Step By Step” (SSMS, 8th grade)

Special Artist – Finley McKeag, “I Can Change the World By” (RSE, 4th grade)



Primary – Remy Engels, “Tree Frog” (RSE, PK)

Intermediate – Liza Engels, “Green Guys Recycling” (RSE, 5th grade)


Visual Arts:

Primary – Ivy Lake, “Jungle Living” (RSE, 2nd grade)

Intermediate – Annika Revill, “Knowledge” (DSE, 5th grade)

Middle School – Julia Craigg, “Helpful Honey Combs” (DSMS, 8th grade)

Senior – Katherine Ferno, “Telling a Story” (DSHS, 11th grade)


Additional district awards were presented as well. At the primary level, Grace Fox (RSE), Elsie Kopperud (RSE) and Brody Sansone (CSE) earned the Award of Excellence in Visual Arts, while Emma Wilson (DSE) received the Merit Award. Earning the Award of Excellence among Intermediate entries were: Blake Aylstock (CSE, Visual Arts), Kylar Boyd (DSE, Music Composition and Visual Arts), Bryce Magee (RSE, Music Composition), Brenna McKeag (RSE, Visual Arts) and Annika Revill (DSE, Visual Arts). Tucker Bethke (RSE, Visual Arts) earned the Merit Award. Evelyn Heitmann (DSMS), Lauren Jennings (DSMS), and Callie Schumacher (DSMS) earned the Award of Excellence in Middle School Visual Arts entries, while Shawn Aylstock (SSMS) received the Merit Award in Visual Arts.