Return to Headlines

Seven DSHS Students Selected to All-State Band

January 11, 2022


Seven Dripping Springs High School band students were named to the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) All-State Band, the most for the Tiger Band since the 2017-18 school year.


Earning all-state recognition for DSHS was Jace Byrd (trombone), Wyland Diehl (tenor saxophone), Quentin Dollard (euphonium), Madelynn Glass (trumpet), James Lee (euphonium), Alana Sayger (horn), and Matthew Sheeler (bassoon). Lee was named to the 6A All-State Band. The seven students will perform with the Texas All-State Band on Saturday, Feb. 12, in San Antonio as part of the TMEA Clinic/Convention.


A total of 15 DSHS students auditioned at the area level on Saturday, Jan. 8, at Westlake High School in Austin. Other area qualifiers were Nathan Crutchfield (bari saxophone), Madelyn Foster (flute), Hennah Hajari (bassoon), Graham Lord (trombone), Woody Mau (bass clarinet), Dylan Saculla (trumpet), Maddie Trussell (flute), and Harrison Weikert (horn).


All-State is the highest honor a Texas music student can receive. A total of 1,875 students are selected through a process that began with over 70,000 students from around the state vying for this honor to perform in one of 18 ensembles. This competitive process begins throughout the state in auditions hosted by 33 TMEA Regions. Individual musicians perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument or voice part. From this ranking, a select group of musicians advance from their Region to compete against musicians from other areas in eight TMEA Area competitions. The highest-ranking musicians judged at the TMEA Area competitions qualify to perform in a TMEA All-State music group. Only the top 2.6 percent of musicians who initially audition become All-State musicians.



DSHS Area Band Participants:

*Jace Byrd - Trombone
Nathan Crutchfield - Bari Sax
*Wyland Diehl - Tenor Sax
*Quentin Dollard - Euphonium
Madelyn Foster - Flute
*Madelynn Glass - Trumpet
Hennah Hajari - Bassoon
*James Lee - Euphonium (6A)
Graham Lord - Trombone
Woody Mau - Bass Clarinet
Dylan Saculla - Trumpet
*Alana Sayger - Horn
*Matthew Sheeler - Bassoon
Maddie Trussell - Flute
Harrison Weikert - Horn


*All-State Band Selection