Return to Headlines

AP Scholars Announced

October 13, 2021


Dripping Springs High School students performed extremely well on Advanced Placement (AP) exams administered in the spring of 2021, according to a report from the College Board.


Of the total exams taken by DSHS students, 71 percent of the tests received scores of 3, 4, or 5, which can earn credit at most colleges and universities. In 2021, 673 students were in at least one AP course and 861 AP exams were administered at Dripping Springs High School. In addition to AP opportunities offered at DSHS, many students take dual-enrollment courses that earn them high school and college credit simultaneously. 


A total of 160 students from DSHS received recognition for their exceptional achievement on Advanced Placement (AP) exams administered last spring; some of those honored are current seniors and some are 2021 graduates.


AP Scholar Awards are presented on several different levels based on average score on the exams and the cumulative number of tests taken. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.


The AP Scholar with Distinction Award was earned by 19 current DSHS students who scored an average of 3.5 or higher on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more tests. Dripping Springs High School had 17 current students named AP Scholars with Honor, which means they received an average score of at least 3.25 on all exams, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more.  A total of 49 DSHS current students were honored as AP Scholars, a status that is granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams.


Only current DSHS students are listed below; graduated students are not.


AP Scholars With Distinction:
Audrey Balsdon
Mason Bloomgren
Karsten Bobb
Evelyn Bristol
Kalea Caldwell 
Evelyn Chis
Grant Clarno
Sophia Fisher
Jack Folsom
Dominic Gearing
Aidan Johannsen
Teagan Krewson
Lily Kroll
Emma Maebius
Kenneth Melton
Katherine Mihaly
James Mihic
Matthew Patrick
Aysa Yadlowsky

AP Scholars with Honor:
Tate Anderson
Isabella Botticelli
Benjamin Circe
Evyn Fallon
Brynn Fields
Madelyn Foster
Jesus Gonzalez-Albeja
Jenna Hodsden
Weston Kirk
Emily Kolach
Anton Miller-Thomas
Tirth Patel
Reed Pennock
Sophia Portillo
Sydney Richard
Tate Staker
Katelyn Trlica

AP Scholars:
Alan Anderson
Luke Austin
Hashim Aziz
Ainsley Ballard
Jackson Barbato
Maya Bisett
Carys Blackmon
Makenna Blakesley
Teresa Brod
Billy Burnet
Avery Cagle
Julia Carter
John Clewett
Parker Cooke
Eli Craddock
Chloe Dane
Julie Davis
Addison Dixon
Ian Driggers
Grayson Dunham
Hayden Dunn
Karenna Edwards
Lindsay Egger
Ariana Flores
Aaron Gangoso
Katherine Ginther
Julia Grant
Ramsey Hutton
Bailey Inglish
Ian Jones
Lindsey Kastner
Shaun Kurian
Celeste Lohman
William Maghielse
Merick Mahorsky
Anya McCallum
Caroline Nix
Joshua Oliphant
Joseph Parsons
Vivek Ramdhar
Isabella Roske 
Gideon Schlab
Kinsey Silcox
Katherine Tressler
Athena Turner
Ethan Turner
Arysta Visser
Edwin Weyrauch 
Marshall Williams