Return to Headlines

DSHS Choir Students Advance to Area Auditions

December 7, 2020

Of the 21 Dripping Springs High School choir students who submitted recordings for the second round (pre-area) of TMEA all-state auditions, a school-record 13 qualified for Area auditions. In addition, two students were alternates. Only the top five students in each voice part are selected, out of 15-18 who audition. The Area round will be held in January. The contest is conducted by the Texas Music Educators Association.

Congratulations to: Portia Schaeffer-Preston (1st Chair Soprano), Abby Wingrin (1st Chair Alto 1), Camila Gutierrez (2nd Chair Alto 2), Kyndal Miethke (2nd Chair Soprano 1), Alyssa Nimocks (2nd Chair Alto 1), Caleb Owens (2nd Chair Bass 1), Colin Tuohy (2nd Chair Tenor 1), Sloan Handley (3rd Chair Soprano 1), Brody Lane (3rd Chair Bass 2), Kate Nolen (3rd Chair Alto 2), Claire Tole (3rd Chair Alto 1), Kevin Keithly (4th Chair Tenor 1) and Alyssa Schaeffer (5th Chair Soprano 2), as well as alternates Arianna Bentz (6th Chair, Alto 2) and Marshall Williams (6th Chair, Bass 2).

Courtney Neva is the DSHS choir director, and Tom Gabrielsen and Amanda Shelton serve as voice coaches.