Return to Headlines

DSHS Students Honored as AP Scholars

November 17, 2020


Dripping Springs High School students performed extremely well on Advanced Placement (AP) exams administered in the spring of 2020, according to a report from the College Board.


Of the total exams taken by DSHS students, 79 percent of the tests received scores of 3, 4, or 5, which can earn credit at most colleges and universities. In 2020, 509 students were in at least one AP and 864 AP exams were administered at Dripping Springs High School. In addition to AP opportunities offered at DSHS, many students take dual-enrollment courses that earn them high school and college credit simultaneously. 


A total of 166 students from DSHS received recognition for their exceptional achievement on Advanced Placement (AP) exams administered last spring; some of those honored are current seniors and some are 2020 graduates.


AP Scholar Awards are presented on several different levels based on average score on the exams and the cumulative number of tests taken. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.


Dripping Springs High School had 10 National AP Scholars, which represents the highest level of recognition, as well as one International Diploma recipient. The National AP Scholar Award means the students earned an average grade of 4 or higher on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more exams. Recipients were Class of 2020 members Johnny Dollard, Bryce Fitzpatrick, Jason Fitzpatrick, Christopher Gearing, Madeleine Hassell, Larissa James, Campbell Melton, John Mihaly, Jason Oliphant, Alexander Yount.


The AP Scholar with Distinction Award was earned by 21 current DSHS students who scored an average of 3.5 or higher on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more tests. Dripping Springs High School had 22 current students named AP Scholars with Honor, which means they received an average score of at least 3.25 on all exams, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more.  A total of 30 DSHS current students were honored as AP Scholars, a status that is granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams.


AP Scholars With Distinction:
Gabrielle Avena
Makayla Banton
Helena Bjeletich
Mitchell Bockelman 
Jake Fields
Dominic Gearing
Nathan Hunt
Lucas Johns
Bryce Johnson
Ella Johnson
Mallory Junker
Jackson Kaiser
Kaylee Longo
Grace Lundeen
Jack Perry 
David Pieper
Melissa Richardson
Aurelia Schaeffer-Preston
Isabella Sites
Teddi Sullivan
Megan Wolter 


AP Scholars with Honor:
Sofia Albini 
Tristan Aradi
Jonathan Bartling
Sariah Caldwell
Coleman Chapman
Natalie Chavez
Caroline Gamble
Sarah Little
Pamela Lohman 
Gesena Mitchhart
Jadon Putman
Emme Racis
Gabriel Rey
Lila Robbins
Jasmine Rolon 
Alyssa Schaefer
Alexander Schlab
Ayush Srivastava
Ian Stinson
Simonne Swanson
Drew Wilson
Dylan Wolfe


AP Scholars:
Chloe Anderson
Audrey Balsdon
Dylan Bao
Emily Bergeron
Enrique Bermudez
Trevor Burk
Kalea Caldwell
Jack Cook
Avery Davis
Collin Erlon
Cameron Euston
Sophia Fisher
Jack Folsom
Piper Guinn
Tristen Ingle
Teagan Krewson
Katherine Larner
Andre Louis
Madison Marotz
Alexander Mcdowell
James Mihic
Derrick Nowicki
Alissa Ordway
Sofia Picucci
Reagan Reynolds 
Cadence Russell
Sarah Sharman
Stanton Stiernberg
Kylie Yardas
Gabriel Ybarra