Return to Headlines

DSISD Trustee Hetrick Re-elected to Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Board of Directors

October 16, 2020


Mary Jane Hetrick Dripping Springs ISD trustee Dr. Mary Jane Hetrick has been re-elected to a three-year term on the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Board of Directors, representing TASB Region 13, Position B. The election was held during the Association’s 2020 Delegate Assembly, which was held virtually on Oct. 3.

Dr. Hetrick is in her sixth year on the Dripping Springs ISD Board of Trustees. She is a 2017 Leadership TASB graduate and Master Trustee. Dr. Hetrick received a bachelor’s in business administration from the University of Texas-Pan American (now UT-Rio Grande Valley). She continued her education at Auburn University at Montgomery, earning a master of public administration and certificate in nonprofit management, and then earned a doctorate in public administration and public policy from Auburn University.

Dr. Hetrick’s professional experience includes working as the women’s sports information director for UTPA, scholarship coordinator for the University of Texas at Brownsville, research assistant at AUM, and an adjunct professor for AUM and Troy University. In 2014, she founded a nonprofit consulting business, Foundation Logic, LLC.

Active in the Dripping Springs community, Dr. Hetrick was honored by the local Chamber of Commerce with the Hometown Hero award earlier this year. She has served on the Dripping Springs Education Foundation Board, the Foster Village Board, and building and visioning committees for her church, and is a founding board member of Patriots’ Hall for veterans in the greater Dripping Springs area.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.