Return to Headlines

May Board Meeting Summary

May 19, 2020

The Dripping Springs ISD Board of Trustees held its regular meeting on May 18, with board members participating remotely, as permitted by Governor Abbott’s temporary suspension of Open Meetings Laws in response to the Coronavirus pandemic. Board Briefs provide a more detailed summary. The YouTube recording can be viewed online.

Several students were recognized for various honors via video: health science students who qualified for state HOSA competition and one international qualifier; speech/debate students who qualified for Texas Forensics Association state competition, the National Tournament of Champions, and the National Speech and Debate Association Tournament; student-athletes who qualified in the Special Olympics state bowling tournament; state qualifiers in UIL Technical Theatre Design; students who qualified for the state Destination Imagination Tournament; National History Day state qualifiers and two national qualifiers; and state finalists for the Prudential Spirit of Community Award.

The seven campus Teachers of the Year were recognized: Annette Hambright (SSE), Dave Hammond (DSMS), Jordyn LaMirand (SSMS), Michael Lemonds (DSHS), Lynne Maddox (DSE), Olivia Martinez (WSE), and Kristin Wright (RSE). It was announced that the DSISD Elementary Teacher of the Year is Kristin Wright and the District Secondary Teacher of the Year is Michael Lemonds. St. David’s Healthcare sponsors the program.

Retirees from the district were honored:  Kelly Coleman (DSMS), Nancy Dolezal (DSMS), Susan Foster (WSE), Yvonne Kaatz (DSHS), Jill Hayes (WSE), Ginny Lindzey (DSHS), Todd Raimond (DSHS), and Karen Wells (Transportation).

Dripping Springs High School Nurse/DSISD Lead Nurse Vicky Metzger presented the annual nurses’ report, sharing an overview of activity at each campus, as well as a summary of nurses’ roles, responsibilities, and accomplishments.

Mr. Washburn introduced a report on the Canvas Learning Management System, including usage data and plans for professional development; Instructional Coordinator Katie Henry shared some future goals for use of the tool.

DSISD Project Manager Mike Garcia provided an overview of bond projects construction, sharing progress reports on four projects: the Dripping Springs High School expansion and renovations, the Transportation Center renovations, construction of Elementary #5, and construction of the new Walnut Springs Elementary/Dripping Springs Middle School renovations.

Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations Scott Drillette shared updates on the proposed District of Innovation plan amendment that would allow additional group health insurance options for employees, changes in revenues and expenditures resulting from the pandemic/remote learning, and the budget development process.  

Superintendent Todd Washburn announced that graduation has been rescheduled to June 19, with social distancing protocols, and other end-of-the-year process and celebrations. Mr. Washburn shared that discussions are ongoing regarding summer school, summer professional development, and planning for various fall school scenarios. Board President Kroll reminded trustees of a board workshop on May 19 and the TASB survey.

The Board took action on a revision to Policy EIC Local to temporarily adjust grading policies due to the pandemic/remote learning, adoption of high school Language Arts instructional materials, nomination of Dr. Mary Jane Hetrick for TASB Region 13-B board position, scheduling of a public meeting to discuss the proposed budget and proposed tax rates, Guaranteed Maximum Price #2 for the new Walnut Springs Elementary/DSMS renovation project (sitework and utility work), and the Board’s advocacy agenda.