Return to Headlines

Wright and Lemonds Are District Teachers of the Year

May 18, 2020

Dripping Springs ISD announced the district’s 2020 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year at the May 18 Board of Trustees meeting. The DSISD Elementary Teacher of the Year is Kristin Wright, fifth-grade teacher at Rooster Springs Elementary, and the DSISD Secondary Teacher of the Year is Michael Lemonds, Business/Real Estate teacher at Dripping Springs High School. These individuals now will represent Dripping Springs ISD in the 2020-21 Texas Teacher of the Year program.

Wright Lemonds
Kristin Wright is in her fifth year at Rooster Springs Elementary, and her 13th overall as an elementary teacher. Previously, she spent seven years with Eanes ISD and one year with Austin ISD. Ms. Wright is a graduate of Texas A&M University with a bachelor’s degree in Interdisciplinary     Studies.

Now in his fifth year at Dripping Springs High School, Michael Lemonds started his career in a business-related career. That background allowed him to bring real-world experience to DSHS students in the areas of business, financial markets, and entrepreneurship. He also created the Fundamentals of Real Estate course, which was the first of its kind in Texas high schools. Mr. Lemonds graduated from Texas A&M University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in history.

In addition to Wright and Lemonds, other Campus Teachers of the Year were:  Lynne Maddox (DSE), Annette Hambright (SSE), Olivia Martinez (WSE), Jordyn LaMirand (SSMS), and Dave Hammond (DSMS).       

Campus Teachers of the Year are selected by their school colleagues; the District Teachers of the Year are chosen following an interview with a selection committee.