Return to Headlines

PTA Reflection Honors Announced

January 17, 2020

The creative work of many Dripping Springs ISD students entered in the annual PTA Reflections program was recently evaluated based on artistic merit, creativity, mastery of the medium, and interpretation of the theme. Many students received district-level honors and the work of 15 students was selected to move on to the 2020 Texas PTA “Reflections” State Contest.

The Reflections program focuses on positive recognition and creative expression, helping students can find their unique voice through art. Through the program, National, Texas PTA and Dripping Springs local PTAs urge students at all grade levels to create and submit original works of art in the medium of their choice, reflecting on a specific theme. This year’s theme was “Look Within.” One artwork piece was selected to represent DSISD from each grade division (Primary, Intermediate, Middle, and Senior) that had entries and from each Arts category (Dance Choreography, Visual Arts, Literature, Music Composition, Photography and Film Production).

Students who have earned Overall Awards of Excellence and qualified for the state contest are:


Primary - Eliza Anderson (SSE)

Intermediate - Darby Engels (RSE)

Middle School - Shelby Badger (DSMS)

High School - Drew Wilson (DSHS -11)


Dance Composition

Intermediate - McKenna Robinson (SSE)

Middle School - Danica Best (SSMS)


Music Composition

Primary - Kylar Boyd (DSE)

Intermediate - Odin Magee (RSE)



Intermediate - Hayden Mayfield (RSE)


Film Production

Intermediate - Ainsley Badger (DSE)


Visual Arts

Primary - Nora Richardson (RSE)

Intermediate - Kalena Dixson (SSE)

Middle School - Leona Albini (DSMS)

High School - Katherine Ferno (DSHS)


Special Artist

Finley McKeag (RSE) for Music Composition  


These state qualifiers will be recognized at the March 30 Dripping Springs ISD Board of Trustees meeting. Winners at the state level will advance to the national level. State results will be posted on the Texas PTA website ( in early March.


District-level awards also were announced. Earning district Awards of Excellence in Visual Arts were Johnny Fox (RSE) and Trinity Seggelink (DSMS). Earning district Awards of Merit were Avery Wyatt (DSE) for Photography and Eliza Anderson (SSE), Sophia Bradner (DSMS) and Mia Mervin (DSMS) for Visual Arts. In addition, nine students received honorable mention: Lucas Trepanier (SSE) in Photography, Darby Engels (RSE) in Music Composition, Grayson Anderson (SSE) in Film Production, Liza Engles (RSE) and Tatum Theis (RSE) in Dance Choreography, and Gracie Fox (RSE), Taylor Hodsden (DSMS), Jillian Muckelroy (DSMS) and William Tate (DSE) in Visual Arts.