Return to Headlines

December Board Meeting Summary

December 17, 2019

The Dripping Springs ISD Board of Trustees held its monthly regular meeting Dec. 16.


Rooster Springs Elementary students shared information and celebrated on the “house” system that is being used on campus this year. Two Sycamore Springs Elementary students who were selected for the National OAKES Children’s Choir – Blaine Lovett and Bella Reed – were honored. Staff members retiring at the end of December were recognized: Deputy Sirenna Cumberland (DSHS School Resource Officer who is retiring from Hays County Sheriff’s Office), Pedro Sanchez (DSHS, custodial), and Beth Shuman (RSE).


Following public forum, Interim Assistant Superintendent for Learning and Innovation Joe Burns introduced the monthly L&I report and reported the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) held its first meeting.

DSISD Project Manager Mike Garcia shared an update on construction projects from the 2018 bond program, including the Dripping Springs High School expansion, Transportation Center renovations, and the Walnut Springs Elementary relocation/Dripping Springs Middle School renovation project. Director of Facilities and Construction Clint Pruett provided additional information on the WSE/DSMS project, and summarized the work of the Design Input Committee for Elementary #5. Keith Cummins from Corgan Architects listed priorities that were considered including location of the property, future potential use of the remaining property, safety of students, embracing nature on the site, maintaining natural buffers along the property lines, and drainage. He shared the building layout, and sketches of various building views, highlighted outdoor learning areas, and displayed some interior color schemes. 

Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations Scott Drillette reviewed the budget planning calendar for the 2020-21 budget development. 

Superintendent Todd Washburn shared information about introductory opportunities he has enjoyed with various stakeholders, the availability of applications for the Bond Advisory Committee, the Community Ambassador program, and district enrollment.


Board President Carrie Kroll commented on the organization of legislative priorities and shared dates of two regional meetings. First reading was conducted for several local policies that were approved by the Board, then the Board approved two appointments: Todd Washburn to the TIRZ Board and Director of Community Services Lucy Hansen to the Hays County Citizens Election Advisory Committee.