State Assessments

  • Texas Education Agency (TEA) requires certain assessments to measure students' progress. STAAR (State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness) were implemented in the Spring of 2012 for Grades 3-9. TELPAS (The Texas English Language Assessment System) is used with each identified Limited English Proficiency (LEP) student. 


    In order to fulfill the requirements of House Bill 3 passed by the 81st Texas Legislature and incorporated into Texas Education Code (TEC) Chapter 39, the TEA developed the STAAR, which provides the foundation for the accountability system for Texas public education. STAAR is designed to assess the content of a course, including both concepts taught in previous grade levels and readiness for the next instructional level. A significant change from TAKS, which was untimed, is that the STAAR is limited to 4 hours. Extended time accommodations for students with unique learning needs will continue to be offered.
    The STAAR program at Grades 3-8 assesses the same subjects and grades previously assessed on TAKS. At the high school level, however, grade-specific assessments have been replaced with five end-of-course (EOC) assessments: Algebra I, Biology, English I, English II, and US History. 
    Enrolled Grade  Assessment Program  Subjects Assessed 
     3   STAAR+  reading and mathematics
     4  STAAR+  reading, mathematics and writing
     5  STAAR+  reading, mathematics and science
     6  STAAR+  reading and mathematics
     7  STAAR+  reading, mathematics and writing
     8  STAAR+  reading, mathematics, science and social studies
    EOC End-of-Course+
    Algebra I, Biology, English I, English II, and U.S. History

    + STAAR Spanish, STAAR Modified, STAAR Alternate, and/or STAAR L are administered as appropriate according to TEA guidelines. 

    TEA STAAR Resources


    STAAR for Students with Special Needs

    To address different needs of students, there are a variety of test formats and accommodations. Optional test administration procedures and materials are available to all students on all versions of state assessments.  Students with disabilities who are identified under 504, special education, or dyslexia may be eligible for additional accommodations. Decisions concerning these accommodations are made by the ARD committee or 504 committee.


    TELPAS, which involves all identified LEP students in kindergarten through Grade 12, consists of holistic ratings in the areas of Listening, Speaking, and Writing. For kindergarten and Grade 1, Reading proficiency (which relates to preparation for reading skills) is holistically rated by the student's teacher. In Grades 2-12, the TELPAS Reading proficiency assessment is administered online.