DSISD Professional Counselors

  • It is a school counselor’s responsibility to help each student develop their academic, career, personal, and social skills through a comprehensive developmental guidance program (Texas Education Code, Section 33).  A school counselor works as a team with staff, parents, and the community to create a supportive, productive and positive atmosphere for students.

    A school counselor plans, organizes, implements, and evaluates a comprehensive developmental guidance program that promotes the educational, career, personal, and social development of students.  The comprehensive developmental guidance program should include the following four components: guidance curriculum, responsive services, individual planning system, and system support.

    Guidance Curriculum is taught through various models and settings including but not limited to the school counselor to focus on the developmental needs of students.  School counselors use the American School Counselor Association National Model and Texas Model to adapt their program to their school’s needs.  Both of these models provide competencies and desired learning outcomes that play a key role in accountability.  Examples of guidance units may include academic support, goal setting, career exploration, peer relationships, communication, problem solving, conflict resolution, diversity awareness, etc.

    Responsive Services includes meeting with individual or small groups of students for counseling. Small group counseling services are available through teacher referral, parent referral, staff referral or self referral by any student. Short term individual counseling is available as needed.  Counselors might also consult with parents, appropriate staff, refer students to other school support services or community resources, and provide intervention or advocacy on behalf of the student.  

    An Individual Planning System helps students plan, monitor, and manage the decisions needed to be made throughout their educational career to establish goals, develop future plans and meet established goals.  

    System Support involves supporting the staff, parents, and members of the community in the context of the program’s goals.  This includes consulting and coordinating to help increase the effectiveness of the program and promote student success.  Additionally, the school counselor may provide professional development for staff and parent nights for the community on various topics as needed throughout the year. 

     

    DSISD PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS/LICENSED MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONALS

    Campus

    Counselor

    Phone

    Email

    Dripping Springs Elementary

    Raynie McLaurin

    Michelle Tasin

    512-858-3703 

    512-858-3704

    raynie.mclaurin@dsisdtx.us

    michelle.tasin@dsisdtx.us

           

    Rooster Springs Elementary

    Kimberlee Guerrero

    Karey Carroll

    512-465-6203

    512-465-6205

    kimberlee.guerrero@dsisdtx.us

    karey.carroll@dsisdtx.us

           

    Sycamore Springs Elementary

    Casey Baker

    Amy Guerra

    512-858-3905

    512-858-3903

    casey.baker@dsisdtx.us

    amy.guerra@dsisdtx.us

           
    Walnut Springs Elementary

    Jena Pelayo

    Cacey Portwood

    512-858-3803

    512-858-3807

    jena.pelayo@dsisdtx.us 

    cacey.portwood@dsisdtx.us

           

    Dripping Springs Middle School

    Danielle Badilla

    Rob Greebon

    512-858-3422

    512-858-3421

    danielle.badilla@dsisdtx.us

    rob.greebon@dsisdtx.us

           

    Sycamore Springs Middle School

    LaDonna Caroselli

    Lauren Johnson 

    512-858-3623

    512-858-3622

    LaDonna.caroselli@dsisdtx.us 

    Lauren.johnson@dsisdtx.us

           

    Dripping Springs High School

    Retta Ary

    Collins Graham

    Denise Garza

    Jennifer Foreman

    Sandy Zimmerman

    Brooke Johnson

    512-858-3132

    512-858-3121

    512-858-3134

    512-858-3123

    512-858-3125

    512-858-3122

    retta.ary@dsisdtx.us

    collins.graham@dsisdtx.us

    denise.garza@dsisdtx.us

    jennifer.foreman@dsisdtx.us

    sandra.zimmerman@dsisdtx.us

    brooke.johnson@dsisdtx.us 

           

    Licensed Mental
    Health Professionals

    Kim Bird

    Karen Jones

    Stephanie Opiela

    512-858-3621

    512-858-3910

    512-858-3124

    kim.bird@dsisdtx.us

    karen.jones@dsisdtx.us

    Stephanie.opiela@dsisdtx.us