homeemail pageprint pagerss
Dripping springs Independent School District Home of the Tigers

Go To Site Search
dripping springs educational foundation

State Assessments
Texas Education Agency (TEA) requires certain assessments to measure students' progress. STAAR (State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness) were implemented in the Spring of 2012 for Grades 3-9. TELPAS (The Texas English Language Assessment System) is used with each identified Limited English Proficiency (LEP) student. Click here to see TEA's assessment calendar for the current year. 

In order to fulfill the requirements of House Bill 3 passed by the 81st Texas Legislature and incorporated into Texas Education Code (TEC) Chapter 39, the TEA developed the STAAR, which provides the foundation for the accountability system for Texas public education. STAAR is designed to assess the content of a course, including both concepts taught in previous grade levels and readiness for the next instructional level  A significant change from TAKS, which was untimed, is that the STAAR is limited to 4 hours. Extended time accommodations for students with unique learning needs will continue to be offered.

The STAAR program at Grades 3-8 assesses the same subjects and grades previously assessed on TAKS. At the high school level, however, grade-specific assessments have been replaced with five end-of-course (EOC) assessments: Algebra I, Biology, English I, English II, and US History.

More details on the STAAR can be found on this page, in the links in the sidebar, and in the Texas Education Agency (TEA) page links below. 

Subjects Assessed 
 3   STAAR+  reading and mathematics
 4  STAAR+  reading, mathematics and writing
 5  STAAR+  reading, mathematics and science
 6  STAAR+  reading and mathematics
 7  STAAR+  reading, mathematics and writing
 8  STAAR+  reading, mathematics, science and social studies
 Algebra I, Biology, English I, English II, and U.S. History

+ STAAR Spanish, STAAR Modified, STAAR Alternate, and/or STAAR L are administered as appropriate according to TEA guidelines (see TEA Assessment Chart). 

TEA Information
STAAR Resources Page
STAAR Snapshot
Assessment Calendar

STAAR for Students with Special Needs
To address different needs of students, there are a variety of test formats and accommodations.  Optional test administration procedures and materials are available to all students on all versions of state assessments.  Students with disabilities who are identified under 504, special education, or dyslexia may be eligible for additional accommodations.  Decisions concerning these accommodations are made by the ARD committee or 504 committee.

TELPAS, which involves all identified LEP students in kindergarten through grade 12, consists of holistic ratings in the areas of Listening, Speaking, and Writing.  For kindergarten and grade 1, Reading proficiency (which relates to preparation for reading skills) is holistically rated by the student's teacher.  In Grades 2-12, the TELPAS Reading proficiency assessment is administered online.

Home     Privacy Statement     Contact Us     Sitemap     en Español     Accessibility     Copyright Notices     Using Renewable Energy     Designed by ePoweredSchools
DSISD - 510 W. Mercer St. - Dripping Springs, TX 78620 - Ph: 512.858.3000 - Metro: 512.465.6100 - Fx: 512.858.3099